At first glance

           It doesn’t get much more uneventful than today.


            We woke up and got in the car, drove for hours, and got out to make a new camp. We’re in Farewell Bend, Oregon right now. Having a name is about all Farewell Bend has to offer. We’re next to a cow pasture and a lake. If you look off of the eastern side of I-84 you can see us right there as you come into the state’.

             The transmission problem has thrown a knuckle-ball into our plans. We want to get past Portland tomorrow, but we’re not sure if we can. I don’t want to drive the car too far if it actually is having a problem. It’s not slipping, there aren’t any unusual sounds and the only thing that seems to be wrong is that the stupid warning wont go away. I’m not a mechanic but I’m almost positive gearing down for the steep mountains threw a sensor out of whack.              Elliott is standing next to the highway almost on the barbed-wire fence containing the cows, waving his phone in the air trying to find service to call someone. I’m positive he doesn’t even have anyone to call. He just likes to talk to people. Before he left he was going down a mental list trying to figure out who he should call, should he find service. I think I’ve had as much luck as he has here at the campsite. I’ve been text messaging my dad and Mary Margaret back and forth pretty consistently.

             So we’ve figured out the rest of our route. If you’re looking at Oregon, find I-84. It runs across the top of the state. We’ll take it all the way to
Portland tomorrow, which is over 300 miles from where we are tonight. We’re planning on getting a crappy hotel outside of there and trying to find a Volvo dealer to talk about the car even though it can’t be serviced until Monday. From Portland, we’ll take Highway 30 all the way to Highway 101, then we start our trip down the coast.

            This part may be my favorite. I love mountains, exploring, animals and “roughing it” but I think I’ll find the coast to be the most enjoyable. We had an option, to see Crater Lake National Park in Oregon or to see the whole coast of Oregon. I pushed for the coast. While I appreciate seeing all the beauty of the mountains, hiking and landscape portraits, I want to enjoy as much of the 101 that I can. I feel like to put all of our road trip’s emphasis into that type of scenery would be overkill.          

             I’m ready to see California.

Leave a Reply

