In the middle

battle-of-perryville-337.jpg
Photo by Britney McIntosh

I should probably send Miles Ward a gift basket.

When I shot the Battle of Perryville on Saturday, I had already planned on trying to sneak onto the battlefield, but didn’t really think I would get a chance to be in the middle of the action. Thanks to Ward and last year’s photo editor of the College Heights Herald, WKU’s student paper, I was able to become a part of the action, not just cover it. Take another glance at that top photo, you probably missed me.

bjlbattleofperryville100620070999.jpg

I became a part of the action because Ward loaned me a full uniform and filed in line with his crew, pictured below. As we marched off to the field, I really had no clue what I was getting into. I felt like a member of a real army, or at least a photojournalist with real soldiers. Being there in the heat of it all really helped me build my package for the Danville Advocate-Messenger, the paper I was freelancing for. Shots like the one above came from being on the battle field. You can see how far away the crowd is in the background.

battle-of-perryville-058.jpg
Photo by Britney McIntosh

This is a snapper that gives you an idea of how much or little I stood out. I don’t think it’s that bad if you’re not looking for me. The man to my left is Miles Ward.

bjlbattleofperryville100620070372.jpg

The picture I talked about with the man from WKU was one of the charge. Our crew was supposed to march up the hill and then charge the Yankees. The plan was for me to run out with the first group, get “hit” and die. After falling to my back, I wanted a really wide shot of everyone running over me, kind of like this gentleman above, only people running and yelling, not walking calmly. But unfortunately, the Yanks bailed early and we never got to charge.

What I was able to do was get up close and personal with these guys though. The photo below is one of the leaders making plots of what to do, because these re-enactments aren’t as plotted as you think. I guess we tend to think that every move is recorded in history, when really all we have is winners, losers and death counts.

bjlbattleofperryville100620070222.jpg

The next few photos are from the battlefield. I think they’re fine on their own without captions.

bjlbattleofperryville100620070255.jpg

bjlbattleofperryville100620070471.jpg

bjlbattleofperryville100620070245.jpg

bjlbattleofperryville100620070467.jpg

And now, to what I shot before the main part of the day. These are a few photos from the Living History Village, where re-enactors are spending their time just as they did in the Civil War.

bjlbattleofperryville100620070037.jpg

bjlbattleofperryville100620070006.jpg

bjlbattleofperryville100620070501.jpg

I love this frame’s clean but also useful background. These two “drummer boys” are practicing their beats as the soldiers (background) march off to line up.

Lastly, if you didn’t have a good enough look as to how authentic I looked, here comes more photos by Britney McIntosh:

battle-of-perryville-517.jpg

battle-of-perryville-512.jpg

battle-of-perryville-203.jpg

4 Responses to “In the middle”

  1. haha! i love it brad, i love it. i was there and i still love it. Your shots are awesome. I think that me and you could put our battle shots up next to eachother and teach a lecture testifying the phrase “if theyre not good enough, youre not close enough.”

  2. lenscapremoved Says:

    Hmm. I think your pictures were pretty good actually, for being being the lines.

  3. You both did an AMAZING job!!! The photos were so realistic and really portrayed the emotions of the reenactment. You two are awesome!!

  4. You are a blinding, brilliant genius and I will worship you as though you were a god.

Leave a Reply

