Big win for Cats usually serves as big lesson for me

Blogger note: These photos are property of the Kentucky Kernel. Any reproduction is a violation of copyright. Please respect my work and the Kernel’s property. If you are interested in purchasing any photos from the Kernel contact Ed Matthews at itakepicturessometimes@gmail.com, or leave a comment with your request.

lsufootballbjl101320071089.jpg

Last week UK defeated a number 1 ranked team for the first time in over 40 years, but also the first time ever in Lexington. Of course, the fans were going nuts, and thought they should share the moment with their favorite players. They stormed.

This was the third time I’ve gotten to experience this. One time was this semester, in which we (Kernelite photographers) didn’t perform very well. I think we did better, but not perfect. We planned, we performed. The Kernel produced another double truck spread (two pages together) and we pretty much had what we needed.

I didn’t nail my assignment, Andre’ Woodson, because I got lost in the crowd. I knew where his mom would be, and tried to find him, but after about 2 minutes of running around, I decided I was wasting time. You really only have a little under ten minutes before everything is over and the fans realize they’re just standing there. The effect wears off.

My best reaction photo came after I parted from the fan section (and was hit in the head with a metal pole). I found Brooks heading off the field and he made it to the students and held his hands in the air, sporting a number 1 with each hand. I think it says a lot about his career at UK.

My application of experience from last game was mostly just learning not to get in the middle of the field with the cluster of fans, because from there you’re stuck and miss everything. Unless there is something worth it, i.e. a player riding the fans or a fight, it’s not worth it. I stayed on the outskirts of the bulk of the fans and was able to get a few photos I like and a fewthat told the story. I have a few photos of a student being arrested that I like for nothing more than the expression on the guys face.

All in all, I did better, but not as well as I expect of myself. I believe my game coverage was better than usual and I really feel I’ve become better at sports than I am anything else. I need to redirect my attention to telling stories that really change people. I love shooting games, but in the end, everyone wins and everything is OK. I want my career to be more about helping people that aren’t getting help through major TV networks and aren’t getting national attention. I don’t think UK needs much help getting any attention right now, especially in football.

Enjoy the rest of the pics.

lsufootballbjl101320071325.jpg
I really like this photo because of the light. This isn’t a big play and it’s not a complicated or tight composition. Simple rule of thirds (fans-players-grass) and framing. The two dark UK players frame up the photo along with the consistent fans and dark grass going around top and bottom.

lsufootballbjl101320071415.jpg
Once again, not an important play, but nice feel. The imaginary diagonal line made through the players and the ball is nice and gives your eye some direction. This is an easy photo to make if you stay tight and low.

lsufootballbjl101320071970.jpg
At first glance, my original idea was to crop off the refs, and get really tight on the players. But while Mary Margaret was looking at pics with me, she commented on the ref to the left. “He has a good face,” she said. And then I thought about it and realized this photo was best without hardly any crop. The ref does have a good expression, and the one the right is standing over the end zone marker, hands in the air. The fans? They’re also helpful. They support the atmosphere. The thing that is killing me is the photographer wearing orange.

lsufootballbjl101320070302.jpg
I’m not really happy with my background being so clear, but I like this picture. The aperture was 3.2, so if I had been zoomed in it would have been more blurred. But I was at 70, so the background stayed more focused.

lsufootballbjl101320070798.jpg
This is one of my favorite actions. I like the dive, the light and the horizontal line of players.

lsufootballbjl101320070758.jpg
Sometimes I forget to look for coaches, especially since they’re usually tucked away within the players. But when they do come out, they’re usually riled up enough to make some good faces.

lsufootballbjl101320070647.jpg
Fans also react to plays. You can find portfolio pictures right behind you at a game. you just have to turn away from the action.

lsufootballbjl101320070488.jpg
This is a good example of what I was talking about with the zoom. This is zoomed to 165 at 2.8, so the background is more blurred. Aperture works different at different focal lengths.

lsufootballbjl101320070338.jpg
Same thing with the aperture. This is zoomed to 200 on 2.8.

lsufootballbjl101320070252.jpg

I just wanted to load a picture of of Trindon Holiday and say that I think he is the fastest person I have ever seen.

lsufootballbjl101320071209.jpg

Sorry for the late post. I did better at the Florida game. Coverage for it in a few days and also Elliott’s thoughts on LSU.

4 Responses to “Big win for Cats usually serves as big lesson for me”

  1. Great job Brad-like always!!

  2. Love the site! I know this is an old post, but it reminds me of the work of the photojournalist at the Danville Advocate-Messenger. Check out his blog at claysdaze.com

  3. […] blogged about a big win before so I thought I would take a different angle this […]

  4. Scott Childers Says:

    do you sell 8×10’s of your photos? I would love one of Justin Jeffries flexing in the endzone after the L.S.U. game. Please let me know and thanks.

Leave a Reply

