Don’t be hasty

And I thought I knew what journalism is.

In high school I was in journalism class for two years. It consisted of doing newspaper and making the yearbook. Ours newspaper was just horrible to say the least. Our yearbook consisted of mediocre ideas that never vented beyond our poor design, pixelated pictures and complete lack of writing.

Since coming to the University of Kentucky, I have been involved in journalism, the real journalism, for three years now. I took multiple applications to the Kernel, talked about in this blog, and after a semester at the Kernel I was assistant photo editor. Looking back that had more to do with the current assistant stepping down. My sophomore year I fulfilled one semester as photo editor and one as a contributing assistant. This year I didn’t take on an editor position. I wanted to be involved in the Kernel in ways I hadn’t before. I picked up the position of designer, and had intended to be a writer.

All of the decisions I have made at the Kernel have carefully directly affected me. Each title I have held at the Kernel has given me new perspectives.

I have played the writer’s name tag, while very few times, enough to learn their system. I learned patience and dedication.

Dave LaBelle has taught me photography in every second he had a chance to. I picked up compassion.

In designing I have followed the boss’ guidelines and tried to please her as much as myself. Therefore I learned discipline.

I feel I have been an important part of the chemistry of the Kernel in the past, but not the most significant factor. I have been a part of teams that have worked on major stories as an editor and reporter. Through it all, I am proud to say I have helped to make a difference at the Kernel through my first two years at UK. But yesterday I made the biggest decision I have ever made in regards to the Kernel.

I quit.

The ultimate decision came over a week of debate over classes, opportunities through the Kernel and opportunities through the yearbook, my new job. As the photo editor of the yearbook I have a chance to build a staff for the first time in years. In this, I can help others by eliminating the ever going problem of trying to find pictures from the Kernel. The situation, a burden to editors for each publication, is now being resolved. This goes back to my questioning of my skills and development. Am I a better photographer than I am an editor? Now I have an opportunity to start solving this Rubix.

I think this is in my best interest, along with all those involved. When I told Ed, the photo editor of the Kernel, I was stepping down, he said OK. He wasn’t surprised, alarmed, or troubled. Ed’s exact words were, “It will be about the same,” with a smile of course. Ed and I are good friends, and I am not out to get him. We both just know the fact of the matter is I’m not happy with shooting for the Kernel anymore.
The slightly more relaxed feel of the yearbook was welcoming. I felt wanted, needed. It felt comfortable.

After a month and a half in position, with a new photo office in the Kentuckian and an up and running system, the question came up of next year. Two weeks before this came up as well. Now I’m in between the Kernel, the Kentuckian, where I am most useful and where I can better myself.

I think my decision has been made. But one mustn’t jump to decisions too quickly, now.

4 Responses to “Don’t be hasty”

  1. Brad, no matter what you do, you always do it well. Everything works out for a reason and obviously your talent was needed at the Kentuckian more. Just because you quit the Kernel doesn’t mean you lost your ties to it, or your friends. :) The key to every decision you make should be to be happy, so if you’re happier at the Kentuckian, than you’ve made the right decision.

  2. I think you do know what journalism and right now, like everyone else, you’re trying to figure out what role you play in it. You’re unbelievably talented in so many areas that it’s only natural to dip your feet in each pool to find which one is right for you. This move to the Kentuckian seems right for you, and it’s where you’re being called. I can tell you that you’re already doing an excellent job, and I’m seeing that twinkle in your eye that you get when you’re passionate and excited about something. And that, my friend, is what is truly important.

  3. captureamoment Says:

    heck i like it. i have two hang out offices now instead of one.

  4. Wade Bevins Says:

    Brad, I’ve been reading your last few entries and can tell you have a lot of “flux” in your life right now – which is normal for a man on his way up. Have you considered that all this sifting, sorting, pondering, and uncertainty is a great way to gain a sharper focus on what you’re really called to do – where your true passions lie? “Don’t be hasty” is good advice! Enjoy the whole messy process. Take on the new adventures that come your way. Don’t burn any bridges. Ten years from now, you’ll be glad you did (or should that be didn’t??).

Leave a Reply

