Sometimes, I guess there just aren’t enough rocks

Blogger note: These photos are property of Brad Luttrell. Any reproduction is a violation of copyright. If you are interested in purchasing any photos, please contact me at bradluttrell@gmail.com, or leave a comment with your contact information.

20071122nursestrike_r_bjl088.jpg
Robbie England sits with nurses on strike in front of ARH in Middlesboro, where his wife has been a nurse for 15 years, on Thanksgiving night.

Neutral. I am to tell this story, unbiased. Neutral.

Health care is something that is starting to become very important to me. It has came through taking my health care ethics class and discussing those topics with my nurse, Mary Margaret, and trying to keep up with the nurses strike in Eastern Kentucky and West Virginia.

It’s a story that I am becoming very interested in trying to tell. One of the most active stories in health care is happening right here in Kentucky, through the strike. It’s one that has been going untold, or unbalanced. Very easily coming out to be a he said she said story.

Well forget all of the he said she said. This is what I am saying.

20071122nursestrike_r_bjl283.jpg

From left to right, meet Sherri Mills, Janice Patton and Robbie England. Mills has been in health care for 18 years and it’s been 13 years for Patton. England’s wife, Sonya, has been a nurse for ARH for the past 15 years.

20071122nursestrike_r_bjl021.jpg

And now introducing Carla Ward. Ward, seen here eating her Thanksgiving dinner in a makeshift shelter in front of ARH in Middlesboro. Ward has been working at ARH in Middlesboro for the past 7 years.

20071122nursestrike_r_bjl145.jpg

The four are only a small part of the 600, of ARH’s 750, who are refusing to cross the picket line. There are many stories within this overall. I realize it is more complicated than it’s being told. What I can appreciate is this group’s dedication. Not too many people would like to spend their Thanksgiving in the cold where the sky is spitting rain.

20071122nursestrike_r_bjl250.jpg
Robbie England waves as a car passes and honks in support of the picketers cause.

Listening to the picketers I can feel their grief. They are pouring all of their efforts into this, and it would be much easier for them to just go back. But that’s not their cause. They feel beaten down. But they haven’t given up after months of protest.

I am just taking this and making it mine. I am going to try and work on this as much as possible and just document what is happening. I want to be unbiased, and I am when it comes to taking a stance on who is right. But I believe that a solution needs to be found.

20071122nursestrike_r_bjl174.jpg

I found this brief on the Herald-Leader’s Web site. You can check it out and form your own opinion. From the Herald-Leader

3 Responses to “Sometimes, I guess there just aren’t enough rocks”

  1. captureamoment Says:

    Diggg it. much better than yesterdays.

  2. I really like this, buddy. Keep up the good reporting and pictures.

  3. […] ballad of love and hate All of that about being neutral, doesn’t apply […]

Leave a Reply

