It starts with you. And you. And you. And you.

kristin.jpg
Photo by Kristin Sherrard

It takes a lot of courage to step into something you have never been a part of and have no clue about.

People like Kristin Sherrard, new comers to our photo community, are admirable people for stepping out of their shell and saying, “I want to learn this, no matter what it takes.” I hope we continue to see more people like her. After reading Kristin’s most recent post, Somewhere I belong or just a dream, I was inspired. It’s good to see people who want to be with us, instead of those who seem bored with photojournalism after only being around it during their college career.

I’m not sure how anyone could be bored with photojournalism. Everyday you can be someone else. You can tell someone else’s story to the world (or at least the extent of your publication…which with the internet, it’s now endless). What is more exciting than that?

kasha_drag.jpg
Photo by Kasha Stevenson

A good friend and great photographer of ours at UKPJ, Kasha Stevenson, should also be noted for her courage. She is in Vietnam right now with Sean Rose, covering a self produced story idea. She came up with it, pitched it to Chris Poore and now she’s there, making it happen. That is bold.

These two people have inspired me. I hope I can continue to bring you glimpses of their work from their young blogs. But that will be up to them.

This is how our community must start. With people gaining interest in what we are creating. They want to be a part of us, because what we’re producing is admirable to outsiders. Up until now, it’s not been that way. But we have to start sometime. Somewhere.

“I want to go into the photo office after the holidays and blow Jim away with how much I have improved! …I want him (and everyone who reads this blog) to see how hard I have worked over the break to show I “belong” in the photog group. I realize that I just bought my camera and that I don’t have any experience or any money to buy really nice lenses, etc, and that I am running low on time in my collegiate career, but I don’t want that to stop me from producing the best work that I can. I realize that I will probably never be as good as my colleagues who have been doing this much longer than I have, but I want to try.”

-Kristin Sherrard,
in her most recent post

I love her attitude, and I hope we can keep her around and keep finding people like her. I also hope you’ll add her to your bookmarks and continue to support her. Hits and comments motivate people.

Keep coming back around here this week too, I’ll be producing as much work for you as possible in my Evarts workshop for Picture Kentucky winter’s session.

Leave a Reply

