It’s like out West, only without the 5,000 mile drive

With a dead story and only a day and a half to shoot, I wanted to leave Evarts, Ky with more than what I came with.

I could be sentimental and say, “Oh but I met so many new friends and had fun and it was a great learning experience.” But really, I wanted good pictures. Workshops always provide you with all of these. Connections. Good times. Learning experiences. Portfolio pictures.

I didn’t have time to shoot much of a story, but in between being honked at on the side of the road for standing at memorials, I shot landscapes. Some of which are really nice and telling of the area, others are just OK.

Shooting landscapes reminded me of this summer. It made miss just driving, not knowing where I was going to sleep. Evarts, a place so different than the West, caused me to miss California and its diverse land. It made me miss Elliott and wish he had been able to be in Evarts not only to shoot good pictures, but to hang out with me and Ed when we’re not having to make newspapers. Staying in an unfamiliar house for the sake of photographs made me miss Martha.

I will probably never have another entire summer to throw away for the sake of pictures. These trips when I get a full week to just think about them are some of my favorite times each semester. I hope, with Jim’s help, we can keep building these workshops and having great experiences.

20071220memorials_t_bjl0.jpg
This is the main cemetery from Ages through Evarts. There are other small cemeteries, but this is pretty much it. In my lifetime, I’ve had 6 family members buried here, including Clyde Wilson and most recently, my grandfather, JC Luttrell.

20071219standalone_t_bjl086.jpg
Good light and old, pretty houses make for good pictures.

20071219standalone_t_bjl114.jpg
I am going to reshoot this sometime. I need to be closer to downtown, or get a hold of a 300 with an extender. There are two steeples right in this area, and I think if I moved around I could probably frame this up a lot better.
20071219standalone_t_bjl124.jpg

I think my dad called this area Sunshine. I told him there’s nothing there but a few playing fields, but he said it used to be a community.

One Response to “It’s like out West, only without the 5,000 mile drive”

  1. I really like the landscapes you shot during the workshop. I told you this already, but the first one is probably my favorite from the group. Like Rush (or was it Pip?) said, it shows a perspective from the graveyard that most don’t see: that of those who are buried there, looking out toward the road.

    Keep on shooting. I look forward to the pictures you take over this holiday.

Leave a Reply

