Always challenging

20080102louisville_r_bjl151.jpg 

For as long as I can remember, I have turned mindless tasks into games.

When I was younger and would help my dad do work around the yard I would do my best to keep it from being boring. If I were helping carry pieces of a tree he had chopped up with a chainsaw, I would see how far I could throw each one into the pile. Or maybe pick out a log already in the pile and try to hit it with the one in my hand. I would imagine it being a competition, and I was to be the best contender.

I tend to apply that with everything. It’s always a competition. I’ve been in Louisville since the Music City Bowl and have been shooting the whole time, and all of it has been in completely meaningless situations. Nothing extraordinary. My goal is to make each scene enchanting. Yeah, enchanting. Captivating. Breach the methodical. Capture true character. Conquer beyond what has been conventional.

That’s what I have tried to do with all of these photos taken from the inside of a car. I hope they made you stop and think, “I wouldn’t have thought of that” or at least make you appreciate my eye.

If you don’t, let me know. Because this isn’t an imaginary playing field anymore and I’m certainly not the only player on the stage.

20080102louisville_r_bjl195.jpg

20080101louisville_r_bjl096.jpg

20080102louisville_r_bjl189.jpg

20080102louisville_r_bjl154.jpg

3 Responses to “Always challenging”

  1. Great capture with the McDonald’s signs in both windows. That’s pretty impressive!

  2. captureamoment Says:

    love this first one the best. the mcdonalds one is nice as well.

  3. i honestly can’t tell what the first one is? is that out of your sunroof? i really like the color in the second one.

Leave a Reply

