Music City Bowl – (Re)action

20071231musiccitybowl_r_bjl1467.jpg

Just as they win and it’s over, we begin.

I’ve blogged about a big win before so I thought I would take a different angle this time.

Straight forward, things I learned or was reminded of:

20071231musiccitybowl_r_bjl1383.jpg

20071231musiccitybowl_r_bjl1349.jpg

20071231louisville_r_bjl002.jpg

  • When you’re in the front row of about 30 photographers, you have the best view of what’s going on but end up looking up people’s noses. So when you throw a hail-Mary up to get even with the subjects, don’t be surprised when everyone in the photo workroom is mad at you. But hey, I got my pics from it. Survival of the fittest.

20071231musiccitybowl_r_bjl1116.jpg

  • Never, ever, ever forget about the Gatoraide bath. It’s going to happen. Don’t be one of the 29 photographers in the workroom without it while David Stephenson shows off his perfect shot.

20071231musiccitybowl_r_bjl1273.jpg

  • Don’t waste time on the coach if you know you have your shot of him. I didn’t follow Brooks beyond the celebration of stage. If I had, I would have had 15 solid pictures of him, but none as good as the ones from him receiving the trophy.

20071231musiccitybowl_r_bjl1448.jpg

  • Security and cops will most likely push you around. They’re just doing their job: protecting the coaches. You can see a fella yelling at me to get out of the way so Andre’ Woodson can get through. That’s going to happen. Get your shots, but be conscious that it’s not uncommon for people to get arrested at football games. A friend recalled hearing a cop say, “I can’t wait to topple some of these punks,” right before fans rushed the field. Journalist are not exempt.

20071231musiccitybowl_r_bjl1406.jpg

  • There are show-boats amongst the players. You don’t have to shoot them. They’re just showing off for the media. Sometimes this is OK, sometimes it’s not. Generally I wont shoot it. find the real celebrations. The ones that they forget you’re watching.

20071231musiccitybowl_r_bjl1086.jpg

  • Always, always, always be ready to run to the middle of the field at the end of the game. If the clock is out and no one else is going, who cares? Get out there and get your shot.

20071231musiccitybowl_r_bjl1457.jpg

  • A big part of what we do is anticipation. Elliott is very good at this. It’s actually a big part of what he is better than you are. Anticipation separates the pros from the amateurs. While Elliott technically isn’t a professional, he still out shoots them at football games. Before the game he spent nearly an hour looking for Andre’ Woodson’s mom. All that just so that in four hours when the game was over, he would know where to be. He wanted a shot like the one above (he already has one that is better from earlier this season). You should check his blog to see if he got it.While we’re on anticipation, you should apply that to the action. What? You can’t anticipate action? I disagree. This is a whole other topic though. Just think about it.

I hope you like them and have enjoyed my Music City Bowl coverage. Please comment and make fun of my photos.

20071231musiccitybowl_r_bjl1432.jpg

But as always with UKphotojournalism photos, you do not have permission to take these down from the site. They’re the property of the Kentuckian and myself. If you’re interested, email bradluttrell@gmail.com. Also, while my opinions are the best ones, the Kentuckian would probably not step out to say that they are with me on basically anything I say. So don’t call them complaining because I made a subtle joke about Dicky Lyons Jr. being a showboat.

3 Responses to “Music City Bowl – (Re)action”

  1. goodness, that’s a giant photo room.

    nice pictures, pal. really enjoyed the explanations and your lessons. the one of stephenson getting the awesome gatorade bath picture makes me laugh.

  2. by the bye, the whole (re)action reminds me of your old blog.

  3. toppcat0509 Says:

    I love the picture of Woodyard and Brooks! Great job!!!

Leave a Reply

