Scientifically artisticated

Important blogger note: If you take this post as serious science, and myself to be a real scientist (or know-it-all) then you are completely missing out on the sarcasm that makes this post fun, but also a learning experience for the both of us.

I realize you haven’t been seeing them, but I have been taking them.

These aren’t my favorites from my most recent photographs, but they were a learning process. A friend had a celebration of his birth and we stopped by after dinner the other night. It’s highly challenging to photograph in darkness. When you think about the ultimate requirement for photography it seems near impossible. Light is that requirement. So when there is a lack of light, the challenge to make not only compelling, but just sharp pictures, dramatically increases.

20080118scourge-of-the-sea_t_bjl001.jpg
Pazzo’s on Limestone has tons of little clusters of light and then black holes. It makes for interesting photos.

Let me explain. I have developed a complex equation to show what I mean.

Quality of your photography = (x)light + (y) ability to use light

X is the amount of light you have, or say a measurement of radiant energy. With a great enough X, anyone can make an appealing photograph with hardly any ability. For example, sunsets or sunrises. The golden hour provides newbs with a means of making good photos without any ability. Take the newbs sunset or sunrise photos and compare them to a professional’s. Now those photographs that were displayed proudly in photo albums would be tucked away into the closet. The professional is packing more Y than they can fit into a camera bag.

20080119scourge-of-the-sea_t_bjl033.jpg
Mary Margaret and Eric (sorry Eric, can’t remember that last name…Sohl?). While this room is basically black, there was light coming in from the hallway. Which was cool.

With enough Y, you can learn to photograph in darkness. Y is you. You are what matters. When you hear a photographer speak to a group and at the end comes the questioning, listen to the questions and you can pick the amateurs from the pros. The newbs ask questions like, “Why did you use such a high f-stop?” or “How long did you have to leave your shutter open to catch that?” When it comes to the real questions, the questions you can’t learn from reading a manual, those are by the pros. “When do you draw a line and say that you could do more good for a person by taking them to a hospital rather than taking there picture?”

20080119scourge-of-the-sea_t_bjl102.jpg
I think she is showing her friend a photograph. I can’t really tell.

“Leica, schmeica. The camera doesn’t make a bit of difference. All of them can record what you are seeing. But, you have to see.”

Ernst Haas

I don’t have anything that will change your life. Actually I would be willing to state that these are the type of photographs that wont even inspire you beyond lunch. But every shutter that fires, I learned something. Every time I have to compose, I’m thinking of why I am composing that way. I’m giving myself reason. I’m giving myself style and still debating seemingly the heaviest question of my life.

If I had one story left to tell, what would it be?

20080119scourge-of-the-sea_t_bjl060.jpg
This is by far the most interesting photograph of these. There is a lot going on, if you just look. The girl, Kellie Oates, is laughing at this guy (black blob in middle of frame) while the two girls in the background are dancing. There are some subtle pretty colors. This feels right for the atmosphere.

One Response to “Scientifically artisticated”

  1. I think your equation would make a sense if it were:

    quality = x(light) +/- y(ability to use light).

    I really like the second and third picture…if I had to choose, though, definitely third. Did you make up the word artisticated? I like it.

    By the bye, it’s Kellie, not Kelly. :)

Leave a Reply

