Right hand on my heart

Things on my mind:

* How can I become a better copy editor? – I’m not doing so well in my copy editing class. I have a B, but that’s through the grace of Mike Farrell’s scoring system. I would imagine if I keep bombing these style quizes that I’m going to end up dropping my grade. I have a B in there right now, which is nice. Soon I will have to copy edit two 3 hour shifts, which will be a rough experience for me but a necessary one for any guy who thinks he’s going to be an editor of a newspaper.

* What are we going to do with our Web site next year? – My plan was to start building a new Web site for the Kernel over the summer, but now I’m confused and in limbo with this idea. Apparently the new College Publisher is really slick, and Sean Blanda over at Temple brought to light a few problems with their site, which is a WordPress. Even given a few new CP possibilities, I feel like I would have the most control over at WP. This is a tough decision and I feel some pressure leaning to stick with CP.

* Why am I in another funk on shooting? For some reason or another, I haven’t shot much in the past week and a half. I’m not sure why I get in these grooves. Maybe it’s just because I needed a mental break. I have been thinking about my expansion and how I need to be more than photo, and actually trying to figure out if I start a magazine what it will be. I’m nearly positive I want to run my own online publication.

Things on my heart:

* What next year holds is scary. Mary Margaret may be moving back to Louisville and I will be working more than most professionals (any). I don’t want to lose her to Louisville, even if it is an hour away. I’m really comfortable keeping her to myself. That’s selfish, isn’t it?

* I miss music.  I told Mary Margaret the other night that the only thing I that I love as much as photography is music. I loved performing and having a band and writing songs. Nothing feels quite like finishing a song and listening to it and being so pleased with everything, except maybe finishing a long, hard fought for mixed media piece.

But even with mixed media, you aren’t coming up with everything. That’s what I love about music, from every chord played to every lyric written it’s all yours. It is truly your creation, there was no storyline that someone presented to you. I hope I can start jamming a bit with Oost this summer. If I have any money left after buying a new computer I may buy a new bass.

* Am I going to fulfill my capabilities? A lot has fallen on my plate this semester, I hope I can hold up to the expectations of the Kernel, the Kernelites and my friends and family. I have made a lot of promises and set even more goals for myself and this newspaper.

It’s all ready time to start making those happen.

All opinions on this blog don’t necessarily represent that of those who work for the Kernel, or the Kentucky Kernel. While my opinions are the best ones, it should be understood that they are not ones that everyone else accepts. 

3 Responses to “Right hand on my heart”

  1. You’re capable of so much more than you think you are. What next year holds is scary, but so does every year. Therein lies the adventure, the excitement and the joy of another tomorrow.

    Let’s get coffee when I get in town. I have a surprise for you.

  2. Let me say, although Im having these problems, I have solutions for 4 out of 6. At least in theory…

    If you are confident in your (and your staff’s) tech skills than do it. I would recommend it 1000 times.

    You can always fix hiccups in the Web site, but with CP, you will never have complete freedom. The whole ordeal has consumed a lot of my attention though, and if you want to be ed in chief AND make a new site, I hope you have he summer to work on this stuff.

    Good luck!

  3. Hey, kid. You’re fantastic. Never lose sight of that. If you need to talk or anything like that, give me a call!

Leave a Reply

