Mirror

a33008selfportrait087blog.jpg

ISO: 80
Shutter: 1/30
Aperture: 8.0

On camera flash: 1/3 power

Our assignment for Monday was self portraits. I was going to do something with flash, but once I started getting my equipment ready I realized I had left my flash at the Kernel. So, I thought for a moment and decided to go for a nice soft light and use a tungsten light bulb.

I’m not sure I got exactly what I wanted, but I’m also not sure that this means I’m not happy with these. I actually think they turned out much better than they would have had my plan gone accordingly.  I knew I would need to shoot it tight and use light well, because “environmental” was not an option. My room isn’t too cool, and if someone else were to be shooting my portrait I would not let them use my room. I thought about using my garage as an option, but just bailed on moving all my gear out there (especially since I never know when there could be homeless people sleeping in it).

a33008selfportrait094blog.jpg

ISO: 80
Shutter: 1/50
Aperture: 8.0

On camera flash: 1/3 

a33008selfportrait110blog.jpg

ISO: 400
Shutter: 1/40
Aperture: 4.5

On camera flash: off

And for those of you who know I don’t have my 20D and that a Mark II doesn’t have an on camera flash, you probably realized that these portraits were shot on my Canon G9. I love that camera.

One Response to “Mirror”

  1. I like the light bulb that shows up in your eye in the first photo.

Leave a Reply

