You’re gonna be remembered for the things that you said and do

It’s the question I hadn’t answered for myself. I left it out of my application as well. That same question was the one that I knew would be the easiest to start the interview off.

Why?

Why do you want to do this job? Why would you want to take on this much responsibility? Why would anyone want to be held accountable for an entire publication’s actions? Just why?

Because I can make a difference.

For as long as I can remember I have known I was going to go to the University of Kentucky. For my three years at UK I have been working for what is one of the greatest newspapers in the country. It has been an honor to work for this publication. And it’s the greatest honor I have ever received to be named editor-in-chief.

The reporter working on the announcement story asked me if I ever dreamed that I would be sitting there, upcoming editor-in-chief of the Kentucky Kernel. If that was ever my aspiration. I just told him the truth. No. My goal has been to do the best at whatever job I was doing. I always saw myself as a behind the scenes work horse of the Kernel.

Some of my friends/coworkers really questioned me when I said I was going for editor-in-chief. Some even discouraged it. That’s their own feelings about it though. I feel I can do something for this paper. I can not only leave my mark, but help the Kernel communicate better to our audience.

But with my vision of the Kernel going to a new Web site and a new print design, I know there is a lot to be said about what WE will be doing. I can’t do this without the help of our staff. I am accountable, but we are all responsible to get the job done. And I think we are all very capable of that and more.

I am so honored. I thank everyone from the meeting for approving me to help guide the Kernel next year. I thank everyone who I have worked with over the past three years to get the experience necessary to take on the job. And most of all I thank all of those who will be working with me next year and have given me their blessing.

While tonight was a big night for me, this isn’t about me. It’s about what we can do together. I’m very excited for what we’re going to accomplish next year. I hope you are too.

5 Responses to “You’re gonna be remembered for the things that you said and do”

  1. alliegee Says:

    Congratulations, friend! I can’t wait for next year.

  2. Kristin Sherrard Says:

    Congratulations Brad! You’ll do a great job!

  3. Congratulations! I am so proud of you!

Leave a Reply

