The future? I doubt it

This Web site is bringing news to the news sites before the news sites can even edit the five o’clock news.

Livenewscameras.com is bringing you 120 live feeds all available upon your request. This is taking a whole new meaning to your choice of the news.

You don’t want to wait on the commercials to see video of that protest in New York City? So don’t. If it’s a big news event you’re likely to be able to find it on this site. Or maybe you just want a look at the news room before the 11 o’clock show. Well that’s now possible as well.

Don’t worry, you don’t have to search for all the good stuff yourself. No, there is a monitor, pictured at the right of the Web site, who searches all of it for you. Once they find out what is going on they will tell you immediately. Until then you will have to wait on them to respond to e-mails (or possibly check their facebook… we can’t see their screen), drink their water or just stare.

I’m not exactly sure where this fits into journalism. I’m also not exactly sure if I think it is even ethical. This is an idea that seems a bit soon to me. Aren’t we as journalist supposed to edit through the material our audience sees? This is a straight feed from a camera. No editing. No pre-anything.

I’m sure there is a place for such technology. I see it fitting into an editing system though. If we can shoot video and it goes straight from our cameras back to the office on a stream, then we can edit that then we cut out a middle man. But really this technology is available, it’s just not affordable.

I think this ability is a positive step for journalism. I do not, however, necessarily see this site making very much headway in journalism, or very much money. If I want news in my city, I will turn to my city’s news organizations. I think this site will get traffic from people who think this is “neat” or who like to be able to see L.A. traffic at 4:37 p.m.

This is an interesting stab at saving us, but it’s not the key that fits the hole. However, the key to saving this business most likely does lie somewhere online, or within a digital realm, and not on any material format that you can hold in your hand (unless your hand grasps an iPhone).

Leave a Reply

