Up on the dugout

This is your immediate view when you shoot a softball game:

While that doesn’t make a very good picture for the paper, it definitely satisfies my taste for this blog. I dig it. I kept watching for someone to look up enough to ya know, get a face. But I don’t really think you need a face here. The repetition of the heads and hands is plenty. But a face my help.

I wish I had worked the scene above a little more. I took probably seven frames, two to test the exposure for the sunset. As most of you can guess, I had to underexpose the field to get the sky right, so there is some noise going on with the field and players, but I generally like this photo.

This is coach Sabrina McCullough. I’ve shot two of her games now and enjoy watching her team play. I’m actually a pretty big fan of softball now. Shooting it that is. I’m not sure if I could watch it without being on top of the dug out. That’s not because it’s not exciting, I just like my view.

But sometimes you gotta change up the view and head to the backstop. And here is where I whipped out the H-L’s 300 f 2.8 and said, “Man, I gotta get me one of deeeez.” It’s great for sports. I have it until Saturday, when I’m shooting the Kentucky Horsemen, or arena football at Rupp Arena. I’m going to perch in the crow’s nest and try this bad boy out.

Leave a Reply

